The City of Meadville is a third-class city and the county seat of Crawford County, Pennsylvania. The City operates under the Council-Manager form of government, with five members of Council elected at-large and a City Manager appointed by Council. 

Council is the legislative body of the City and enacts local laws known as ordinances. Council also sets City policies and priorities, approves the annual budget prepared by the finance department, and authorizes various agreements, contracts, and other services. The City Manager is the administrative executive of the City and is responsible for the day-to-day operations of the City. The City Manager implements the ordinances, policies, and priorities as set by Council, as well as creating internal policies and procedures for City staff.

Council also appoints members of various authorities, boards, commissions, and committees (referred to as "ABCs") to assist with various functions of the City, such as planning, redevelopment, beautification, and more. These ABC members are all volunteers and critical to the operation and growth of the City.

To learn more about each component of Meadville's government, please use the left navigation tab to view specific pages.

City Building Angled View (Nate Smallwood) - Copy